BRS/BKPA Research Committee

BRS/BKPA Research Committee

The BRS/BKPA Research Committee has a multi-professional membership with clinical, scientific, theoretical, quantitative, qualitative, statistical and methodological expertise. The committee meets once a year to review and award research grants based on scientific merit and clinical relevance. Priority is given to multi-professional and/or multi-centre clinical research that will improve patient care. Annual research funding is supported by the British Kidney Patient Association.

  • Research Committee Terms of Reference
  • Members serve for an initial 3-year term, but may continue for two consecutive terms before being asked to step down.
  • Research committee member openings are advertised on the website and circulated through the BRS affiliate network.
  • Patient’s as partners in research are recruited each grant round to review the grant applications and assess the importance and impact of the proposed research to patient care and patient priorities. Patient representatives are also committee members.

Research Committee Members:

Paula Ormandy, (Research Committee Chair), BRS Vice President Research, Professor Long-Term Conditions ResearchUniversity of Salford

Sharlene Greenwood, (Deputy Research Committee Chair), Deputy BRS Vice President Research, Lead Renal Physiotherapist, Kings College Hospital, London

Samira Bell, Consultant Nephrologist, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee

Paul Bristow, Director for Communications and Marketing, BKPA

Joseph Chilcot, Lecturer in Health Psychology, Co-Director MSc Health Psychology, King’s College London

Clara Day, Consultant Nephrologist, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust 

Ken Farrington, BRS Finance Officer, Consultant Nephrologist, Lister Hospital, Stevenage; and Visiting Professor, University of Hertfordshire

Lina Johansson, NIHR Clinical Lecturer/Clinical Specialist Renal Dietician, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust, London

David Keane, Clinical Scientist, St James’ Hospital, Leeds

Fiona Loud, Policy Director, BKPA

Stephanie MacNeill, Statistician, UK Renal Registry

Mandy Rathjen, Renal Social Worker,

Sue Shaw, Advanced Renal Services Pharmacist, Royal Derby Hospital

Patricia Smith, Paediatric Renal Nurse Specialist, Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital

Maarten Taal, BRS President, Professor of Medicine, Division of Medical Sciences and Graduate Entry Medicine, University of Nottingham, Honorary Consultant Nephrologist, Royal Derby Hospital

Patrick Tabor MVO, Chief Executive, BKPA

Hayley Wells, Principal Renal, Transplant & Urology Pharmacist, Guy’s Hospital